Nature Trail Runners

A running club with weekly Group Runs in Aurora, IL., Montgomery, IL. and Oswego, IL.

The Love of a lifetime – Harish Pai

Psst.. I have a secret. I am in love again. Yes, I have been happily married for 20 years, but in the last few years, I have developed an attraction to a new flame.

It happened innocently enough. A common friend of ours introduced us and I took a shot. The initial meetings though exciting, were also awkward and painful. It took me a few encounters to get used to the highs and lows that came with this new relationship. I almost gave up on it a couple of times in the early going, but I hadn’t felt this kind of excitement in a while, so I stuck with it.

Soon enough I was consumed. I began to eagerly look forward to every meeting and it got my pulse racing and my mind pacing. Each encounter would leave me sweaty, tired and out of breath but extremely contented. I looked to squeeze in dates at any time available. I started to get up in the wee hours of the morning, just to sneak out  of the house quietly and spend time with my new love. My wardrobe and food habits changed just so each meeting would be successful and memorable. And, like any other relationship, some days were better than others.

And then there were those special dates. These were ones that I paid for, prepared for weeks in advance and drove all around town (and even out of town) just to indulge in. There would be people watching and cameras clicking – a lot of pressure to look good. I had to be committed and well-prepared with the hopes of putting up my ‘personal best’ on those dates.  And most of the times, those special dates were so much more rewarding that I looked forward even more to the next one.

So it kept building and building to the point where even a few days drought meant that I would be restless, irritable and uneasy. This relationship is a big part of my life now and I don’t know what I’d have done without it.

Running, my new flame…. Happy Valentine’s day 😉

sweethearts-1

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2015 by in Category: Mish-Mosh.
