Nature Trail Runners

A running club with weekly Group Runs in Aurora, IL., Montgomery, IL. and Oswego, IL.

Let’s go camping! The North Face Endurance Challenge Weekend

(Well, I didn’t have any good camping photos so these nice hills will have to do)

Alright everyone. Here is a chance to get away for a weekend and take in fantastic scenery while watching or participating in a high-energy race. I’m talking about the North Face Endurance Challenge. Our Races/Events/Community Page has info about the race, and a link to the actual race webpage, but I’ll drop a quick summary here.

It is the weekend of Sept 15th in Madison, Wisconsin at the Kettle Moraine State Park with races both Saturday and Sunday of seven different lengths. This being a well known race, part of a series, it is expected to draw some Elite runners. But unlike a marathon where you would be lucky to see one fly by, the Endurance Challenge also offers lots of opportunities for participants and bystanders to socialize.

These are trail races, not road races, and as such the area is perfect for camping! I will be going up on Thursday to secure a campsite. The campsites are literally right where the races take place, so we can be there for all the festivities. The campground has flush toilets, but I believe there are no showers or electrical hookups(unless you have an R.V.)

Anyone who wants to come is welcome to join me anytime during the weekend. I’ll be leaving Thursday at 12:00pm from Montgomery. I may have room for people to carpool, but I won’t know for sure until closer to the date. The trip is around two hours, so if you want to meet at the campsite, you could arrive anytime after 3:00pm which will ensure I have a site secured. I’ll send out a post with the campsite number once I have it.

Obviously not everyone can come out for four days, so you are welcome to join up at anytime during the weekend and stay as long or short as you would like. I’m going to use Thursday and Friday for relaxing and hiking.  Official events start with a panel discussion at 6:30pm on Friday, then stupid-early on Saturday, and events end at 12:30pm Sunday afternoon. I’ll probably wait until like 1:30pm or 2:00pm to leave to let the traffic clear out, but still be able to get home before evening.

You would have to bring all your own camping supplies. If you don’t have any but want to come, just start asking friends to borrow stuff. The avg temps are 70’s in the day to mid 40’s at night so you will need a pad, warm sleeping bag, and tent at the least. Feel free to start a discussion in the comments; maybe some of you will have tents to share or such.

Campgrounds are like $16.00 a night and we’ll split the cost evenly, so don’t let cost hold you back. Other ‘big’ costs would be buying local firewood, or if we went out to eat.

Please RSVP by posting in the comments that you are coming, which days you are coming for, and how many people you are bringing (This is a family-friendly event!).

If you want to start looking for people to carpool with, or tent-share with, start discussing it now.

Click Here for a link to a Satellite view of the campground.

7 comments on “Let’s go camping! The North Face Endurance Challenge Weekend

  1. zombiefrida1
    August 1, 2012

    Great idea!! I am doing something just like this the weekend of Sept 7th, 8th and 9th. It’s the Woodstock Marathon. My first marathon and it’s a trail race!!! Let me see how I feel I just might join you!! Gladys BFRC

  2. rckmtl
    August 2, 2012

    Whoa! Marathon trail race! At least you will not get bored.

  3. Jake Knaak
    August 2, 2012

    This sounds like a great event! The relay marathon sounds really interesting

  4. Andy Wells
    August 3, 2012

    Sounds fun. My boys would love to come out camping over Saturday night. I will have

  5. Andy Wells
    August 3, 2012

    Bleh previous post was cutoff but I was saying that I will have to check on our schedule.

    • rckmtl
      August 3, 2012

      Cool! I’m sure they’d have a blast out there.

  6. Andrew Wells
    August 16, 2012

    Me and my 2 boys are going to join up with you all on Saturday afternoon and camp over till Sunday. Sounds like a great time! Let me know if we can bring anything extra. We have room for 2 more so if anybody is looking to ride with us Saturday you are more than welcome to join us. We just need to be back home on Sunday before 4pm so we will head out @1pm on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2012 by in Category: Announcements & News and tagged , , , , , .
