Nature Trail Runners

A running club with weekly Group Runs in Aurora, IL., Montgomery, IL. and Oswego, IL.

Welcome to our new run leader Andy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Andy has stepped up as a run leader for Thursday evening runs! He’ll be leading runs out in Naperville at the Springbrook Prairie Path. For more details see our Schedule and Routes pages. Right now the runs will last from August thru September and we will see where things go from there.

As always, these runs are open to anyone in the club with distance and pace being adjustable to suit your needs.

Thank you very much Andy for leading these runs. Your help in growing the club is greatly appreciated!

For those of you who haven’t met Andy yet, or don’t know him well, here’s a bit about him-

“About two years ago I decided to start running to keep in shape. I work all day behind a computer and my physical fitness level was pretty low. I always thought of myself as a good runner (not sure why) but, much to my dismay, the first few runs did not go well. I kept running through the suffering and now, flash forward to the present and, I feel fantastic. I am currently running about 30 miles a week as part of my training to run the Chicago marathon in October for a cause that is very special to me.

Twenty three years ago I was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s lymphoma and had to go through some serious cancer treatments. I feel lucky to have survived and, for those of you who know me, beating cancer IS the main reason I smile so much . I also feel lucky to have attended a camp called “One Step at a Time” for children with cancer. And as luck would have it (3x lucky!) the volunteer coordinator from One Step as a Time camp found me and asked if I would like to run the Chicago marathon this year to send a child with cancer to camp! I also feel fortunate (sticking with the lucky theme here) to have found Ellen and the Nature Trail group and I look forward to leading you all on some fun runs through some of finest nature trails that the Aurora area has to offer.”

 

Leave a Reply

